Sand Casting Sterling Silver

Ok everyone, this was my first attempt at sand casting in sterling silver.  It started off a little rocky.  The crucible that I was using was way too thick and the tip I was using on my smith mini torch was not throwing enough heat.  So with the helps of some friends from the Facebook metal smithing groups I found out that I needed to order what is called a Rose Bud tip for my torch and a thinner crucible would help.  Below is the thicker crucible and one type of sand flask that I had used to start with.  As you can see my sterling silver scrap would not melt down.  Also know, that in order for all of this to really work the crucible should be seasoned and you should add Borax to the silver as you try to melt it.  

IMG_4888

 

So out with the old and in with the new.  I bought a really nice set up from Craigs Casting on Etsy.  He has lots of great products to help you be successful at casting.  The setup that I purchased was a flask, easy pour system, borax (helps the silver melt better), and a few sand casting patterns.  Below you see my newer, thinner, crucible that has been pre-seasoned, my easy pour set up, and the newer sand casting flask with a side opening.

IMG_4962

A couple things I learned:

  1. Adjust the sand casting flask as close to the top of the easy pour as you can.  This will allow you to hold the crucible close to the cast in order to make a faster, more precise pour, before the silver starts to solidify.
  2. When you think the metal is molten, it’s not.  Continue to heat for another minute so be sure that the center of the molten metal is melted.
  3. Pour fast!  Matter of fact, don’t pour, dump fast!
  4. Add borax to the metal as you heat, this helps the melt process.
  5. Be sure to add enough of the steam of the sand casting pattern in order to get a nice clean replicate.  (see below)

The first image was my first attempt at pouring.  As you can see it solidified before I could pour it all into the cast.  The second image shows the pattern of the paw with a big clump of silver on the paw (attempt #5).  This is because I didn’t leave enough space between the pattern and the pour hole.  I will remelt this and try again, but as you can see I’m getting the hang of it.

 

Once I have a finished product I will post.  Sand casting is so much fun and really opens a lot of possibilities in your jewelry design.  Good luck!!

Leave a comment