Silver Silhouette Designs….coming to the Saratoga Holiday Sale in November :o)

This is a new series.  I started slowing down on the stone setting jewelry and am trying to focus more on just silver work.  Don’t get me wrong…I love the stones…but some people just appreciate the simple beauty of silver.  So I started creating these silhouette designs.  I have many many more designs coming such as elephants, different birds, ballerinas, clouds, dogs, cats, and even frogs.

How is it done you ask?  Well I take a design and saw it out of raw sheet metal using my jewelers saw.  This part takes quite a bit of time and patience.  That small cut out is then soldered onto another piece of raw silver.  I then saw off around that design to form a “shadow” background.  The piece is finished with a beautiful antique patina to give the piece some depth and dimension.  I hope these pieces are well received :o)

IMG_0821IMG_0817IMG_0819

2 comments

Leave a comment